From Darwin I go

November 4, 2012 § Leave a comment

This morning I departed Darwin at 06:20 and flew to Cairns. Darwin was nice enough, but the differences between these cities are huge.

Darwin was in all honesty a little too hot and too small for me. Now, I’m an island girl myself, not a city girl. I grew up on an island with a population of 11,000 people, but for some reason I have become a sort of a city girl. Maybe it is the whole dreaming myself away thing, or maybe I just appreciate a certain standard to things and to have everything I need at my fingertips.
Darwin was just too small. I suppose I should have checked out Kakadu national park or Litchfield, but I didn’t feel like it in that heat. If it had been a little bit cooler there, I’m sure I would have enjoyed it more too. However, I am glad I’ve been there, and that I’ve seen it. It is from what I hear very different than the rest of Australia, and after landing in Cairns today I can definately say I understand what they mean.

Cairns has an actual huuuge shopping centre and it is quiet for such a bg city. The hostel I am staying at (The Travellers Oasis) is like heaven on earth. Small houses surround a small pool area, and there are palms and hammocks all over the place. No full on noisy music or a typical party crowd (the hostel I stayed at in Darwin was loud, and small and not very nice ). The people I’ve met here in Cairns so far are also very nice, everyone says hello and seem genuinely interested in meeting new people. In Darwin I didn’t really meet anyone like that.
All in all Darwin was an experience, but I think the next few weeks are only going to be better and better.
Anyway, here are some more images from Darwin. Will be heading around Cairns to take pictures tomorrow.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading From Darwin I go at For the Love of Coffee.

meta

