When Jenny Met Lindis

July 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

This weekend I am visiting an “old” friend, named Lindis. I have not seen Lindis in five years, and I am looking forward to catch up with the goings on in her life, and to reminisce about my first year, and her only year, at Newcastle uni.

Lindis chats up Bush and Blair at Madame Tussauds in London, November 2005

Lindis heads down the “neverending” stairs by the Youth Hostel in Glasgow, February 2006

I was standing outside a lecture hall at Newcastle University, waiting for Dr.Poole’s Syntax class to start. I was all wrapped up in syntax-hate when this blonde chick walked up to me.
She said to me (in Norwegian), ‘you’re that Norwegian girl, right ?’
Allhtough Norwegian is my first language, the language I have grown up with and spoken fluently for eighteen years, I could not comprehend what she was saying.
‘Sorry ?’, I said (in English). She switched to English and asked me the same question again. ‘Uhm, yes, I am Norwegian’, I answered. And at that very moment I realised that she was Norwegian, too.
I have no idea why I didn’t pick up on that from the get go (the first thing she said to me was IN NORWEGIAN).
Anyway, we both quickly recovered from that first minute awkwardness, and for the rest of the year we sat together in syntax class.

Lindis found Paradise in scarborough, May 2006

Me and Lindis joined the Int.Soc for a few of their trips that year. Two Norwegians out and about in the UK 😀

Me and Lindis in Whitby, May 2006

Hanging out with Lindis was always fun, so this weekend will be a blast 🙂 Also, it feels good to have a little bit of vacation. If only for just a week.

x JennyMathilde

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading When Jenny Met Lindis at For the Love of Coffee.

meta

