The Dance-Twirling Me

November 26, 2010 § Leave a comment

When I was about 8, there was an ad in the local paper. It was about a new project starting up, a dance-twirl team. My mom said I should try out. I did.

10 years went by. I competed annually in one of Norway’s largest dance-twirl competitions, Haugalandsdrilliaden. I also spent the last two years of the ten as an instructor on the side.
My girls were awesome 😀 

My last year I competed in the 1st division, and came in 2nd place along with the 3 others in my troupe. It was a great ending to 10 years of fun, dance and twirling.

I moved to England, studied for three years. Then I moved to Stavanger to work.
About a year ago now, I heard that one of my old twirling colleagues was starting up a dance-twirl team in Stavanger. I thought it would be fun to twirl again, but only as a coach. Gunn Kristine (the past twirling colleague) said she had enough coaches, but I could join the senior troupe. I wasn’t to sure about it. Senior meant competing again. I hadnt competed since the autumn of 2004.

I was 18 when I competed in my last competition back in 2004. Last year I had just turned 23. I felt old. But I decided to give it a go anyway. Something in me just couln’t say no.

I recently turned 24. In March I will compete again for the first time since 2004. We have roughly finished our routine, now all that’s left is fixing the last pieces and practice till it sticks. I am truly excited about competing again, and also, completely terrified.
Don’t know how long I can keep it up, but I actually think I can put up a fair fight. In many ways, I’m better now, than I was 6 years ago. Don’t know how long I can keep it going, but as long as its fun and I don’t suck at it, I’ll keep going 😀

I also ended up being one of two head coaches/instructors for 15 young twirlers (ages 7 to 9). After christmas we’ll start making competition routines for them too. They’ll compete for the first time in October, 2011.

x JennyMathilde

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Dance-Twirling Me at For the Love of Coffee.

meta

